Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Polar Fire Ice Fishing Jacket & Bibs Review

  1. #1
    Administrator FisherMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stetsonville, WI
    Posts
    4,940
    Blog Entries
    6

    Polar Fire Ice Fishing Jacket & Bibs Review

    PF2.jpg
    Thanks to Tom Gruenwald and the staff of HT Enterprises, we had the opportunity to test two of the all New Polar Fire Ice Fishing Suits by HT. We had the perfect testing grounds for it, the Brainerd Ice Fishing Extravaganza on Gull Lake, Minnesota!
    Brainerd Morning.jpg
    The Perfect Test Conditions started out fairly nice, 20 with little to no wind at 8 am. By 3 pm, the temperature dropped to 6 with winds between 11 & 33 mph and gusts up to 44 mph.
    Brainerd Weather.jpg
    My USA Outdoors Official Review:
    Brainerd Jess.jpg
    I normally wear shirt & jacket size in large, so I ordered an X-large suit. I wanted to have room to move around, more so when I am kneeling down next to a hole etc. so it would not be overly tight on me. The fit was perfect! This Ice Fishing Suit has inner fleece lining in the parka jacket, bibs and removable hood for comfort and warmth. Large zipper pulls are a huge benefit when you have those thicker gloves on! A long tail in the back of the parka and some reflective piping for night time safety are also included as a popular feature. The PolarTX Warmth Technology ECO-Down insulation did everything they claimed it will do. I never got too hot nor did I ever feel a bit cold. I was a comfortable warm temp all day!

    Some other features on the parka that we have not seen in other suits that really stood out to us:
    1. The inner snow/wind gator is removable if you prefer not to use it.
    2. The zippers on the side of the jacket, allow you to create a little more room when you are wearing those extra layers.
    3. The hand warmer fleece pockets are held in by Velcro, which makes them removable to wash when they get too fishy.
    4. The inner wrist cuffs are an adjustable neoprene material. If you have to stick your hand in the hole to catch that large crappie that just came off the hook, water will not go past your wrist!
    5. It has a large amount of fleece lined zippered deep pockets all over in the parka. Good for storing pretty much anything. I used them to hold my JVC video camera to keep it warm, as well as other items I wanted to have quick access too.
    6. Fully sealed seams, lightweight.

    I am a tall guy so I was worried about the bibs sliding up when I kneeled down. Not the case with these bibs. They are made to fit perfectly. The leg openings are extra wide to allow you to slip them on without taking off your boots. There are no storm gaiters or Velcro straps for you to get hung up on when putting the bibs on. The Polar Fire bibs have a 3 position snap system to tighten it up around your boots. They also have 2 fleece lined sipper pockets on the chest side. If you get ice buildup on the zippers, this zipper system breaks the ice when you need to unzip. And for a long day of ice fishing, they have a padded seat!

    This Polar Fire Suit is the real deal! If you are looking for a suit for ice fishing or any other outdoor winter activity, this suit provides it all! Even when it got down to 6 with winds topping out at 44 mph, I stayed perfectly warm. Neither the wind nor the cold deterred me from fishing. A lot of contestants had to leave early as they were getting cold and could not stay warm with the typical snow suits. The Polar Fire Ice Fishing Suit helped keep me warm and comfortable on the ice and kept me in the contest!
    Polar Fire Jacket.jpgPolar Fire Bibs.jpg
    Life is too short, Go fishing!

  2. #2
    Wildlife Control Swapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    200
    I wonder how they would be for winter trapping. For multiple use.
    If its brown its down.
    If it hops it drops.
    If it flies it dies.

    GUNS - It's better to have them and not need them rather then need them and not have them!

  3. #3
    Administrator Heavy Duty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rock Island, Illinois, United States
    Posts
    5,022
    Blog Entries
    13
    Probably, but these are designed solely for ice fishing, having pads in the knees and pockets everywhere.

    Every coat out there can be used for multiple uses.....
    Questions, comments or concerns just let me know just CLICK HERE
    Please visit my blog page at http://www.usaoutdoors.org/blogs/heavy-duty/

  4. #4
    Wildlife Control Swapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    200
    I know what you are saying HD, they look like sweet for ice fishing. I think they would work for winter trapping on ice as well. My carhartts are always getting wet with water, and with these being water proof I think that would be a benefit.
    If its brown its down.
    If it hops it drops.
    If it flies it dies.

    GUNS - It's better to have them and not need them rather then need them and not have them!

  5. #5
    Administrator FisherMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stetsonville, WI
    Posts
    4,940
    Blog Entries
    6
    I imagine that it would work with any cold weather application! Even snowmobiling!
    Life is too short, Go fishing!

  6. #6
    Wildlife Control Swapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    200
    I am going to order a set!
    If its brown its down.
    If it hops it drops.
    If it flies it dies.

    GUNS - It's better to have them and not need them rather then need them and not have them!

  7. #7
    Senior Member fruitcake's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Rice Lake, WI
    Posts
    716
    Great review Fish!

  8. #8
    Administrator FisherMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stetsonville, WI
    Posts
    4,940
    Blog Entries
    6
    Ice Suit update!

    I have to say I am truly amazed by this suit. I have been using this suit every time I go fishing and no matter the weather I do not get overly hot nor cold. It kept me perfectly dry every time. So I wanted to think of something else I could do to push the test on this suit a tad farther. So I decided to use the suit for 2 other applications.

    The first application was snow blowing. If you have ever ran a snow blower when there is a wind you know what I am talking about. I have a John Deere Rider with a 44" 2 stage blower. Depending on the wind I usually get blasted with snow. So I waited for the Perfect Storm. We were suppose to get 8"-12" of snow in a 2 day period. After this storm the temperatures were suppose to drop to below 0 with 15-30 mph winds. When I seen that forecast I pictured how my driveway would drift over.

    Sure enough after the dumping of snow, Mother Nature put us in a windy deep freeze. So I put on the suit and my snowmobile helmet and went out to tackle the drifts. The suit performed flawlessly. I intentionally blew snow into the wind so I would get plastered with it at times with it being so cold so see if any snow would make its way into the suit. Needless to say it kept me perfectly warm and to top it off, I was only wearing a pair of jeans and a hooded sweat shirt. No long underwear at all.

    The previous test gave me a great idea on what the next test would be. Use it for snowmobiling! So I set up to meet some friends on a Friday night to go out riding. Temps were between 28 degrees when we left my house and dropped to about 10 when I got home lat that night. I could not think of a better way to test wind capability than doing 50-100 mph across an open field. I was still cozy warm in this ice suit! Even in the wooded trails, I moved around a lot, to a point I usually break a sweat when riding in my normal snowmobile gear. Nope, nothing. I was getting warmer but no to the point I broke a sweat.

    I have not come up with any other way to test this suit yet besides what I have already done. This is by far the best Ice/snow suit I have ever owned!
    Life is too short, Go fishing!

  9. #9
    Administrator FisherMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stetsonville, WI
    Posts
    4,940
    Blog Entries
    6
    Found a new use for the suit! Packer Games!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol
    Life is too short, Go fishing!

  10. #10
    Administrator FisherMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stetsonville, WI
    Posts
    4,940
    Blog Entries
    6
    I love this suit! Kept me warm the entire game while I watched others and sad to say my wife included get real cold around 3rd quarter.
    Life is too short, Go fishing!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •